21 Day Fix Extreme – Week 1

Well, I officially completed my first week of the 21 Day Fix Extreme…and I TOTALLY love it. I’ve done Beachbody programs in the past: Insanity, T25, Turbo Fire (as you can see, I have a preference for HIIT / extreme workouts), but these 21 Day Fix EXTREME workouts are amazingly and awesomely intense! It’s great! However, I have to say that my favorite part of this program is that it comes with a SOLID and easy to understand eating plan. After one week, I’ve lost 2 pounds and I’m feeling so much better than I did just a week ago: lighter, tighter, and healthier. When my eating, exercising, sleeping, and water-drinking habits are all spot-on, I feel like a completely new person!

I don’t need to lose a high amount of weight, still like to set goals for myself. I used to be leaner and so I want to “bring my abs back” (muscles have memory ;)). But time and time again, I keep failing to do that…and summer is almost here!! For me, it all comes down to nutrition. So, that’s why I’m super excited about this 21 Day Fix program. The eating plan that comes with the workout DVDs is the KEY to all of this. Yes, I love the workouts…but I’m not going to be seeing those abs of mine unless my nutrition is on track. Agree? I’m super excited to see how I’ll look at the end of the full 21 days!

My starting weight was 154 lbs and I would say my goal is right around 140. And even though the scale gives me a measurable goal, it’s the least of my concern. My biggest goal in all of this is toning and tightening up. Specifically, I want more defined abs and a tighter bum. That’s my goal…and I’ll keep you all posted in two more weeks on how I do!

So, how do I like the workouts??? Here are my thoughts on each one:

Day 1 – Plyo Fix Extreme: OMG, what an intense workout!! Especially after a couple of months of doing mainly treadmill and elliptical! The types of moves in this are squat jumps, sumo squats, split jump lunges, calf jumps, and more. I was dripping with sweat and shaking by the end of it. Loved it…but I was definitely feeling it in my legs for 3 days straight afterwards!! Oh…and did I mention all of these moves are done with weights in your hands?? Autumn is intense on the legs, even the upper body workouts are working the legs at the same time. It’s all about the legs!!

 

2017-04-07 12.12.46 HDR

Day 2 – Upper Fix Extreme: Well, I can tell you that my arms were SHAKING so hard by the end of the upper fix extreme workout. Holy molly! I don’t even use that heavy of weights with these workouts (mostly 8 lbs and 5 lbs), but that is more than enough for me with the number of reps being done. My chests, shoulders, and back were definitely feeling it the next day. So at this point my entire body was aching. This is a good thing, because it means it was working.

Day 3 – Pilates Fix Extreme: This workout for the extreme program requires a resistance band. Every single move is done with the band and you will absolutely feel every bit of it!! I actually kind of like it, but I’m finding that the resistance band I have isn’t long enough for some of the moves at the end of the workout, so I’ve had to do some of them without the band. But, honestly, by that point in the workout, my legs are so weak that I’m okay dropping the band and just doing the moves without it. I know I’m still getting a good workout, especially for my abs!

2017-04-09 08.14.50

Day 4 – Lower Fix Extreme: This is SUCH an intense leg workout, but that’s what makes it so awesome. It is filled with lunges, squats, sumo squats, and more. You start each move with weights and then finish out the set without weights, but then you add jumping!! I’m hoping by the 3rd week I can do this workout without having to “come out” of the movement to shake my legs around. Leg day has always been my favorite and this workout lives up to its hype.

2017-04-09 11.53.46

Day 5 – Cardio Fix Extreme: Just what you would think… Another workout that had us DRIPPING in sweat. It is non stop moving. Lots of high knees, jumping jacks, quick feet, butt kicks, and more. I was huffing and puffing about 2 minutes in and that lasted for the full 30 minutes. It was great.

Day 6 Dirty 30 Extreme: Like the others, this workout also focuses on multiple body parts at a time. In fact, I think I found new muscles in my arms that I didn’t know I had!! I was sore for a couple of days after that. I believe that Shakeology would lower this soreness, I’ll have to try and see. Anyway, this one really works the arms, too, so it was nice to get in another ‘upper body’ workout.

2017-04-11 08.07.15

Day 7Yoga Fix Extreme (after that I did 30 min of elliptical): I cannot say I’m a huge fan of yoga, I actually do dislike it. It is just NOT my thing. I love to lift weights, do lunges/squats/wall sits, run, hike, etc…but I do NOT like to stretch and move in ways my body just cannot move (I’m not too flexible to be honest). But I’m making myself do it, if nothing else, at least for the duration of this 21 days. If I’m asking my challenge group participants to do all 21 days, I can’t skip anything either!! And I honestly do know how important it is for me to do this one…so someone please hold me accountable and ask me if I’m still doing the yoga workouts several weeks from now!! I have to say, though, I’m happy to report that the yoga workout wasn’t as bad. 🙂

2017-04-12 08.34.57

Remember…all of the workouts above are in the Extreme program. However, just because I’m doing the Extreme, it doesn’t mean that the original 21 Day Fix won’t get you the results you want!! The way I like to think of it is that the original is for the beginner and intermediate-folks, while the Extreme is for the ‘athlete’ that is looking for their next challenge. The workouts are similar, but the Extreme is more intense with less breaks. And while all of these workouts are super important to complete each day, the nutrition is where it’s at. To summarize, the eating plan is based off of the color-coded portion-control containers that come with the program. They also come with a guide that tells you what calorie range you should be eating within (based on your weight and activity level) and how many of each container you are allowed each day. You’ll be eating a variety of veggies, fruits, protein, carbs, healthy fats, and seeds/oils/nut butters. It’s a totally fascinating concept and it’s exactly what I was looking for. I needed ‘someone’ to tell me what amounts I should be eating and in what proportions. Before I started this 21 Day Fix program, it was extremely common for me to eat 2 bananas at one time in a smoothie, or 1/4 cup of almond butter with apple slices, or an entire avocado. Sure, I was choosing the “right” foods, but not the right amounts or the right balance! This is why this program is so beneficial for people like me.

Pre-planning your meals each day is the key to this working for you! It’s kind of like putting together a puzzle to make sure you cover all containers in the right amounts by the end of the day. It might seem overwhelming when you first dive into your nutrition booklet, but once you go through a day or two, you’ll quickly have it figured out. And I help my challenge group participants get started with meal plans and ideas!

While my actual food was close to my set meal plan, it’s hard to plan out every bite up to a week in advance, so I took some pictures of what I ate in the past week:

So, as you can see, it was plenty of food each day. Some of the bowls probably don’t look like much (and I know it’s hard to tell what all is in them), but it was considerably more food than I was used to eating at one time. At first I was so nervous that I wouldn’t see any results from eating so much food, but thankfully that hasn’t been the case at all. I’m eating the same foods that I was before, but now in the proper proportions!! I’ve even started getting a little more creative in the kitchen over the last couple days. I made these cheesy veggie egg cups over the weekend (1 red, 1 green, 1 blue for 3 eggs cups! – recipe coming soon!) and then I used my FixAte cookbook from Autumn Calabrese (videos and pdf are available on BOD – http://club.teambeachbody.com/).

The only addition I am missing is Shakeology, I should receive my order this week. YAY!! I am certain that would make a huge difference. It is full of healthy nutrients and it will be the equivalent of one meal for me. Very useful when you’re lacking time in the morning especially, when I’m getting ready to leave and my son is just not cooperating. I chose the Chocolate one, I will let you know my thoughts when I try it.

So, how am I feeling after one week on the 21 Day Fix Extreme plan?? I’m feeling good!! It’s so nice to feel lighter and more energetic again. Yes, I’m down 2 pounds on the scale, but here’s what I love about this: usually when I’m trying to ‘watch what I eat,” I can lose weight quickly in the first week…but then I burn out because I’m not doing it in the healthiest way. I’m not eating ENOUGH food (specifically protein) for the amount that I workout…so because I’m not fueling my workouts, I get cravings for junky foods, and after a week of feeling like I’m depriving myself, even if just a little, I then start to eat too much and it all comes right back. I play this “game” of losing/gaining the same 3-4 pounds over and over and over again. And I’m not saying I won’t ever do this again…but, this program is giving me the proper tools to have a better understanding of WHY this is happening. I wasn’t eating enough of some foods and too much of others! Now I’m eating a better balance of the right foods. And even if I still have the temptations and the cravings here and there, I’m never overly hungry. For real. I know everyone is different, but it’s working great for me! I cannot wait to see my final results in another two weeks!

If you want to join my next 21 Day Fix challenge group, I’m planning to begin on May 8th…which is perfect for summer! If you want in on the next group, just email me at georgica2209@yahoo.com or send me a message on Facebook (Georgiana Cristina). Please take a look at my page https://www.facebook.com/georgica2209 for additional inspiration. I’ll provide you with daily accountability, meal plans, tips, motivation, and much more! This is what I love about Beachbody! I love motivating people and being part of their transformation journey! And not only do you get support from me, but you’ll also get support from the group. I will also get support from you (yes, I need that also!) I’m sure I will have an AWESOME group.

If you want to join my next group, please reach out to me! And if you think you have any interest in becoming a coach, I would love for you to join my team. It will be a lot of fun (I am speaking from my own challenge group experience with my coach): from motivating my challenge group to connecting with other coaches to learning all about Team Beachbody. If you need more info on becoming a coach (even if only for the discounts!) and want to join me in this journey right from the very beginning, please reach out to me. (As an FYI, your coach enrollment fee is waived if you buy a challenge pack, which is how I got started!) I’m happy to answer any questions you might have!

Upcoming Deadlines:

  • 7/31/15 – Deadline to order the All Access Challenge Pack at the discounted price of $186 CAD. The price will go up to $160 on August 1st.
  • 4/28/17 – Deadline to order 21 Day Fix / Extreme for the May 8th challenge group.

 

 

Leave a Reply

